TV Services
ani ANI provides news and features to all major broadcasters in the world.

Text News
ani The ANI text capsule gives top news with features health and entertainment content.

TV Programmes
ani ANI provides compelling multilingual programmes aimed at international viewers interested in South Asia.

ani ANI offers round the clock facilities for both foreign and domestic channels desirous of packaging and uplinking their reports from India

Despite conviction, Sasikala trying to 'take hold' of TN Govt.: BJP


Bengaluru, (Karnataka) [India] Feb. 15 (ANI): With Tamil Nadu PWD and highways minister Edappadi K Palaniswami staking claim to form the government, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday lashed out at AIADMK general secretary V.K. Sasikala Natarajan, saying that she was trying to ‘take hold’ of the Tamil Nadu government even after her conviction by the Supreme Court in the disproportionate assets case.

“Sasikala, even after the conviction, is trying to take hold of the Tamil Nadu government by putting up a proxy candidate of her own choice. The new incumbent has already met the governor and sought his permission to form the govt. I am sure the uncertainty in TN politics will soon end and new government will be in place,” BJP leader S. Prakash told ANI.

He added that both the factions of AIADMK will have to respect the sentiments of late chief minister Jayalalithaa, and unite to form the government.

“Edappadi K Palaniswami and O. Panneerselvam have to fight between themselves to prove who has the upper hand and Sasikala is bound to play the role though she is convicted,” Prakash said.

Hours after the Supreme Court upheld the trial court verdict that sentenced V.K. Sasikala to a four-year jail term, AIADMK general secretary on Tuesday expelled 20 other leaders including caretaker Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam from the party.

The expelled leaders are AIADMK lawmaker K. Pandiarajan, former Assembly speaker P.H. Pandian and his son P.H. Manoj Pandiyan, N. Vishvananthan and senior party leader C. Ponnaiyan, K.P. Munusamy, J.C.D. Prabhakar, ex- MLA K. Thavasi,B. Mohan, K.A. Jaypal, S.K. Selvam, K.P. Rajendra Prasad, K.A.K. Mugil, former minister Parithi Elamvaluthi, Ex-MP E. Ponnusamy, V. Neelakandan, ex-MLA V. Neelankandan, ex- MLA Ko. Ayyappan, M. Muthuramalingam and S. Muthuselvi.
The AIADMK leadership has also appointed Edapadi K. Palanisamy as the new legislative leader.
Earlier, Sasikala suffered a major jolt after the Supreme Court upheld the trial court's judgment convicting her in the 19-year-old disproportionate assets case.
Late chief minister J. Jayalalithaa was accused in the case along with Sasikala and two others. (ANI)

For more information on any ANI Service: email: or call us at our New Delhi News desk: 91-11-26189705, 91-11-26703000


Websites and Broadband
ani ANI uses the latest in Internet technology to provide exclusive video , audio , text and picture content for web users.


ani ANI's has a multilingual package of audio, video , SMS and MMS content for mobiles.